Art from the archives

Capt. Sensible was rootling deep inside his largely undisturbed drawers earlier when he turned out half a dozen of my old drawing pads.

I thought this lot had been chucked out years ago so I had mixed feelings seeing them again – a lot of unfinished stuff, experimental stuff and blank pages plus some not-so-good and some not-so-bad sketches.

Not sure if I’ve ever posted drawings before but if not, here are a few.  I was going through my pen and ink stage and snatching a couple of hours now and then to visit the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust at Slimbridge to do a bit of sketching and some botanical drawing.

I’ve included the life model because I managed to make the poor girl so utterly unappealing and sexless. I was much better with vases of flowers.

It’s a shame I didn’t do her justice and I’m sure a male artist would have seized upon her assets and reproduced them to better effect but she did have too many straight lines, which looked neither soft nor sensuous –  just plain chilly!

About janh1

Part-time hedonist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Art from the archives

  1. Pseu says:

    I really think they are rather good. Including the life drawing…

  2. valzone says:

    These are fabulous Jan, I do so envy your talent. Each one is a beauty, I love them, thanks for sharing them.

    • janh1 says:

      Ta, Val. I used to mess about sketching and painting when the boys were little and I had time. I wondered if you know Hemmick Beach at all, south Cornish coast not far from Mevagissey. We stayed near there for family holidays. Relatively unspoiled because there was only parking for five cars!

  3. IsobelandCat says:

    Oh wow, Jan. These are lovely. I especially like the first. You are a woman of many talents.

    • janh1 says:

      🙂 my watercolours were always a bit too wishy-washy. After seeing Hockney, I realise what I *should* have been doing – acrylics!!!

  4. Darrel Kirby says:

    They look pretty good to me – I can’t even stay in the lines when colouring!

  5. I like the koala. I assume that wasn’t at Slimbridge? 😛

    • janh1 says:

      I think they draw the line at Australian Swans 😀 Although a wombat would be good. I’ve always had a soft spot for wombats and koalas.

  6. I love them! Each one with its own personality. Love the cottage scene and the lords and ladies (is that what it’s called?) I love your nude because of her sparse simplicity.

    Wow.

    • janh1 says:

      Thanks Kate. Yes! Lords and Ladies – part of a collection of spring flowers. I think I only did the sketches for the summer and autumn collections…

      Well they are all a bit fiddly and lacking, to be honest. Not really fit for public consumption. Now, if I could only paint like Hockney…. 😉

  7. janh1 says:

    Rarely at ALL happy, Kate but I *loved* the relaxation of the immersion in sketching/painting. 🙂

  8. Love your pictures. Especially like the drawing of the cottage which is just fab.
    Think you should be taking up your pen again! And DEFINITELY not throwing them out!

    Still not receiving notification of your posts by the way…

  9. That;s very odd. When I read your post, there were only three pix – the waterfowl, the cottage and the life drawing. Now, having posted my last comment, was scrolling back up to catch up on your latest post, and there are a whole load more drawings!
    What is my computer doing??
    Still like the cottage best.
    (I was wondering what the comment about koalas referred to! Haha!)

    • janh1 says:

      Laughing at the thought of you pondering the koala comment but not seeing one.
      There should be a hidden koala in every blog! 🙂

  10. Like the sheep. I’m very fond of sheep!

  11. janh1 says:

    Indubitably! 😉 Sauteed or casseroled?

  12. Now, now!
    How could you!

Leave a Reply

