RIP Frank Carson

I’ve seen a lot of comedians in my time, but I haven’t spent that many evenings where you emerge from the theatre feeling very happy yet exhausted with aching stomach muscles from laughing so much.

Dave Allen was one; totally inimitable and wonderful. Barry Humphries was another and then there was the late great Frank Carson.

I only saw Frank once on stage at Cheltenham Town Hall.  He was just hilarious and lovely in the old-fashioned comic tradition with impeccable timing. He exuded a joy which infected the entire audience.

I have to repeat one story which brought the house down but forgive me if it sounds clumsy – Frank had a much better delivery.

He described how he’d done eleven Royal Variety performances. The star performers are always lined up ready and waiting to meet the Queen, who has a little word and shakes a gloved hand with each one in turn…

Frank Carson was waiting in line next to boxer Frank Bruno, who at the time was full of wind because of his high-fibre training diet.

Just as Her Majesty was approaching, Frank Bruno let one slip.

Frank Carson described the scene.

“Next to me was Vicky Michelle from ‘Allo ‘Allo and as the Queen spoke to her, I could hear Frank breaking wind on my other side.

“As the Queen came to me and shook hands, Frank let another one loose.

“The Queen said ‘Was that you?’  and I replied ‘No. I thought it was you!’

“She just looked at me hard and moved on.  True story!”

Great story too.  A lovely bloke.  Rest in peace, Frank.

About janh1

Part-time hedonist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to RIP Frank Carson

  1. valzone says:

    Brilliant Jan, I’m belly laughing here, I can almost hear him telling that one.
    The world has lost a true, and very real comedian, simple, clean, but hysterical.
    RIP you great Irishman.

  2. IsobelandCat says:

    I missed this news. Nice post.
    He who smelled it dealt it…

    • janh1 says:

      Ha ha Isobel! Hadn’t heard that one before. I’d love to know what it is that makes the sound of a botty burp,as my kids used to call it, hysterical to all children?

      • IsobelandCat says:

        Usually it is followed up with “he who’d ended it supplied it” Not Cat let’s off from time to time and the smell is vile, but not by so much as a twitch of the whisker does he betray any knowledge or ownership. Westie Boy does the same.

      • janh1 says:

        They have a well-developed sense of denial, Isobel. There is another attitude they could successfully adopt… My mother’s Pembrokeshire corgi Buster was flat out asleep in front of the fire when he emitted a loud parp which woke him up and he looked around in complete bewilderment and surprise to see where the noise had come from!

  3. Lovely post: I never saw him live. An iconic figure, though. We’ll miss him.

  4. janh1 says:

    Thanks Kate. Another iconic Irish comedian sadly gorn. I’m still in a kind of mourning for Dave Allen.

  5. IsobelandCat says:

    Westie Boy let rip a silent but deadly while asleep beside me. I thought I might pass out.

  6. Tom Modular says:

    Frank Carson was a legend, I’m sure he’ll be making angels blush.

Leave a Reply

