A load of crystal balls?

Interesting piece in the Guardian about Sally Morgan the well-known psychic.

I refer you to this blog

The Guardian piece reveals an interesting new facet to Sally’s performance.

No wonder people are so emotionally moved, crying real tears, believing absolutely – it’s because Sally is so uncannily accurate.

“I have yet to be let down by the Spirit,” she assured her audience.  It’s an entertainment, after all.  There is money to be  made.

Her Spirit Guide is never far away.  I like to think his name is Darren.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About janh1

Part-time hedonist.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs, Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A load of crystal balls?

  1. valzone says:

    I’m afraid I don’t go with this psychic lark, at all Jan, I feel the same about horoscopes too, all is baloney as far as I’m concerned. Humans were blessed with great minds, and the power to think, but we don’t have the power to tell Jill, that jack is okay and is happy in heaven….or other such similar untruths. Its a great way to make money though, because there are gullible people who do choose to believe it. I’m with Barnum. Have you ever read The Barnum Effect? or Cold Reading? Both are interesting. It also has to be remembered, these psychics go though a lot of training, to become a great, and convincing con artist, it takes time to become proficient at the job.

    • janh1 says:

      Hi Val, while I don’t discount psychics completely – having had a couple of experiences which were genuinely impossible to explain – this Guardian piece did make me quite angry that stage psychics are making a fortune out of the vulnerable and the bereaved. The power of suggestibility is extremely strong and people have no idea that it is happening or that they are responding! Thanks for the book recommendations, I’ll take a look.

  2. IsobelandCat says:

    “I refer you to this blog'” is there a m’lud missing at the end of this sentence?
    I was going to ask if you had read Beyond Black, but having been referred back to said blog, found I asked you then. . .

    • janh1 says:

      I was thinking “ladies and possibly a gentleman or two of the jury” Isobel! 🙂

      No and I still haven’t. I’m not even going to mention the size of my “to-read” pile but it’s on the “to-read” list!

  3. Pseu says:

    She’s a fraud! Blah!

  4. janh1 says:

    In spite of everything, I expect a significant number of people will still believe… sad, isn’t it?

  5. valzone says:

    ooops, it worked after all.

  6. janh1 says:

    It’s a very fine link, Val. A good piece. If memory serves, at the Sally Morgan evening in Chelters, audience members were invited, before they took their seats, to write down the name of a loved one they had lost on a piece of paper which was left in a basket near the foyer. Perhaps Sally’s helpers took the opportunity of engaging those people in conversation… and the rest falls neatly into place…

  7. valzone says:

    I suppose it was only a matter of time before her cover was blown, she may well have performed her final hoodwinking show. She’s not on her own, they’ll be plenty more waiting in the wings to make a quick buck Jan.

  8. janh1 says:

    Wouldn’t mind betting she still retains some kind of following, Val. People are desperate to believe.

Leave a Reply

