A tune for the weekend

Frantic dancing from the girls but I have to admit it is hard to keep still listening to this. Going through a retro Dandy Warhols phase at the moment. There may be more.

So this is the beginning of a holiday weekend but I’m resisting the hedonistic urge to go to the Gower, run along the vast beautiful Rhossili beach and get my toes wet.  Oh no, got Good Deeds to do, like decorating, picking blackberries at Pinbury (biggest blackberries in Gloucestershire)  and clearing the decks in the study to get back to writing and, natch, cycling.

But it is a Bank Holiday weekend and surely some shopping must be done? I’m really, really tempted at the moment by the look of this pannier bag – ideal for toodling off to Sainsbury’s and it would brighten up the black Trek no end.

Still resisting using the big Altura panniers on my bike and instead,  managing to pack everything into a little rack pack.  The main reason is that given any bag, I somehow fill it to capacity.  I’m not sure how this occurs.  I’m managing to make the little rack pack really heavy so I don’t think I’d be able to move the bike with full panniers.

However, a brightly gorgeous shopping bag would be just the ticket for some fresh veg, bread and maybe some flowers.

About janh1

Part-time hedonist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A tune for the weekend

  1. valzone says:

    Hey, that’s a foot tapper Jan, I like it. After my son had given me a much needed haircut. I went early to replenish the fridge for the bank holiday weekend, nothing too extravagant, just a couple of extra treats. I didn’t have a fancy shopping bag either, I’m miffed now. After a sunny start to the day, its clouded over, and looking very dodgy, ah well, it is bank holiday weekend, innit 🙂
    Have lovely weekend.

  2. janh1 says:

    Glad you like it 🙂 Mixed here too – got rained on a couple of times but best excuse to wear new cycling jacket. You have a good one too. Will look out for your pics!

  3. IsobelandCat says:

    Ooh it’s gorgeous. A proper shopping bag for the bike.

  4. I always think of Bohemian Like You when I think of the Dandy Warhols. Advertising creates all kinds of links in your head.

    I like the jaunty bag – perfect for transporting flowers 😀

  5. janh1 says:

    That’s their best even tune, Sophie but I had no idea it was used in advertising! What’s the product? Is that a current ad?

    Yes and transporting flowers would require fairly a fairly sedate pace, so as not to ruffle the petals! 😀

  6. It was a Vodafone advert – back in 2001 apparently. Hasn’t aged at all!

    The bag gave me the impression of being used by women who would cycle at a sedate pace…. even more so if it was a version to be used on the front handlebars 😀

  7. janh1 says:

    Was it? And me a Vodafone customer too. 🙂

    Ah I have brake cables in the way at the front but it would attach nicely to the back rack. I would feel duty-bound to buy gerberas to go in it!

Leave a Reply

