Condemned

Still can’t really believe it, but my wheels have been condemned.

Finally took the bike into the bike repairers today to get them to sort out the annoying judder when the back brake is applied at speed.

They said the pads are knackered but so are the rims – back not as bad as front.

“I’ve worked here for 15 years and I am telling you now that I would not go out on that. That is dangerous.  I wouldn’t take any chances with it.”

He looked me in the eye as he spoke, picking up on my disbelief and trying his best to get the message across as scarily convincingly as possible.

Well I’ve had 15 years wear out of it but hell, it looks ok to me, apart from the sharp edge where..er…the metal of the rim has gradually been worn down by the brake pads.

I would be blubbing now if it were not for the urgent need to get some other wheels on there.  I intend to plunder son no 2’s Kona Kilauea  and nick his wheels but not sure how my chain will like his cassette.  Maybe I’ll just have the front….

New Shimano wheels should be in by June 10 but they reckon I shouldn’t ride my bike until then.  Waaaaaah.  Might have to beg that rusty old thing out of your shed, Sophie..  🙂

Hi ho, hi ho,  off to the garage I go,

must break a nail or the rims will fail,

hi ho, hi ho, hi ho hi ho…hi ho….. etc etc ad infinitum until an irate neighbour fells me with a well-aimed airgun.

About janh1

Part-time hedonist.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Condemned

  1. IsobelandCat says:

    Sounds like an immediate trip to london necessary where you can ride the Barclay bikes while yours is sorted.
    Actually, I’m going to be away at Mother’s for a few days next week, so you could always borrow mine.
    Or advertise on Freecycle for a bike that someone doesn’t want. You can always Freecycle it again when your wheels come home.

    • janh1 says:

      If I wasn’t going to be at Hay Festival for the next couple of weekends, the Boris bikes would be a huge temptation, Isobel! 🙂 Kind of you but I’ve been juggling wheels and finally found one for the front that doesn’t bind much. Minimal binding. Trying it on a longer run tomorrow.

      The Freecycle thing is a good idea though but it has to be the right size. There are four bikes in the garage that are the wrong size. 😦

  2. cb says:

    wouldn’t ride on those rims? that sounds more than a little sniffy. did you seek a second opinion from another shop?

  3. janh1 says:

    No because when i upgraded my groupset and got the new V brakes on, they gave me some alarmist story about the rims then, which I dismissed as sales cobblers.

    18 months on, hearing an even more forceful warning from a different mechanic in a different bike shop… well it seemed altogether more convincing.

  4. Darrel Kirby says:

    That’s the benefit of my cycling philosophy: wheels remain in perfect condition. They may need dusting once in a while, but that’s it!

  5. Steve says:

    Dire warning from bicycle mechanics seem to be all the rage these days. Surely a pedal about town while you wait for new wheels won’t mean the end of you?

    Then again, perhaps it would mean precisely just that! 🙂

  6. janh1 says:

    Well exactly – and you know how men love to be right…! 😀 So in the meantime I’m riding a borrowed worn old wheel on the front that binds slightly with the brake – and the back brake’s still juddering like hell. Is that really safer? About to find out…

  7. You’re not going to have to replace your bike frame though? Not when you’ve got your stickers!!!!

    (Although I suppose you could carefully peel them off :-D)

  8. IsobelandCat says:

    ‘Binding’, ‘cassette’?
    I need help with the lingo here.

    • janh1 says:

      Sorry Isobel, thought I had replied but it didn’t show up. Binding is when the brakes rub the rim of the wheel (at least that’s my meaning) and the cassette is the coggy geary thing on the back wheel. There’s probably another name for it but I can’t at the moment think what. 🙂

  9. Condemned to what? With your talents they could be recycled as a nifty hat. Thus spoke Jan.

    And what about the rest of the wheels? Replace the rims on a wheel building course with none of that old, “Oooh, my nails, that’s men’s work, I just want to be free,” malarkey. Fiamma rims, double butted spokes (do they look big in this?) tied and soldered and, later, your choice of hub flange size.
    You could do it of an evening, just like metal macramé, lacing up for the weekend.

  10. janh1 says:

    I broke one nail. That’s more than enough tragedy. I’m not telling you my hub flange size. I’d have to get a superinjunction to stop you spreading it all over the internet, Mr O’Flamma.

    I have seen miracles performed with a wheel jig but I have only ever created havoc with a spoke key. Definitely not to be trusted.

    Why isn’t the Wheels on Fire vid showing up, I wonder? Had a good sing-along to that. I aspired to be Jules, you know. I was too young for all that eyemake-up and the lovely Biba clothes. I also wanted to be the dark-haired one in Pan’s People. I attained the height but precious little else.

Leave a Reply

