Kitten cuddling tips

Possibly the best advice I’ve ever read on kitten cuddling here

“…an exposed belly, however, can also mean the kitty wants to ensnare you into a whiskered bear-trap composed of claws, teeth and agony.”

Yeah! Β Why did no-one warn me about the ‘red-mist’ moments of adorable kitties?

The trick, I have found, is not to struggle but to submit completely to your kitten.

This may sound wimpy but the alternative is a severely mangled and bleeding hand which will not look good at work and make people secretly think you have been on a self-harming binge.

About janh1

Part-time hedonist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Kitten cuddling tips

  1. IsobelandCat says:

    It goes on when they are grown up too Jan!
    Cat regularly hunts my hands and I’ve just been smacked by CC for daring to move away from him when he still wanted my attention.

    • janh1 says:

      πŸ™‚ I was just typing earlier when Lily leap up on to my lap for a cuddle and started gently gnawing my hand to stop me from typing and pay more attention to her! Intelligent and manipulative little lump that she is!

  2. I think I’ve been lucky in not having cats who aren’t aggressive. I think I learned my lesson from a stray tom we took in 30 years ago who was easily goaded into an attack – and too many scratches are not attractive as you say. The Kittens lie inert if anybody tries to tickle their tummies because I never played with them like this when they were small. Even when they are playing, if they encounter human flesh they seem to give baby bites – compared to the nasty nips they appear to take out of one another.

  3. janh1 says:

    Hi Sophie. Oh yes, they are baby bites but Leo’s hilarious, he’s a big furry bag-puss lying out on his back one second having a tummy run and the next he’s in predator mode, clutching my hand. It’s just the way he plays with Lily. No harm meant but that instinct is always there. I still find both of them utterly fascinating after having dogs.

  4. I can’t remember if you had cats at any time previously but you seem to be enjoying Leo and Lily πŸ˜€

  5. janh1 says:

    I am!! More than I even expected to. πŸ˜€ We had The Puss at home when I was young – tabby and white and then Tommy Cat (also tabby/white) who was a stray with us for about a year before he disappeared again. I don’t remember either of them being quite as cuddly as my two, although Puss was a character – she had a close friendship with our hamster.

  6. I think that if you have them from kittens, you mould their personalities more. You may have cuddled Leo and Lily more than Puss and Tommy Cat (I find it interesting that you had a cat with a surname of Cat – we had a Jakey Cat).

    A friendship with a hamster is quite interesting: overcoming natural predatory/fearful behaviour. We had a house rabbit who thought she was a cat and did most things they did short of eating wet catfood (but she did eat dry) although she was the same size as the cats.

  7. Hi Jan. I’ve just seen a news piece about this cat and I immediately thought of Lily: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2hngBzDDyFE

    Train her and post the film on youtube, then she too could become an internet sensation πŸ˜€

  8. janh1 says:

    Oh thanks Sophie – what a beautiful boy – and how clever!! Not sure I’d be able to do that with Lily. πŸ™‚

    I was going to film her retrieving her mouse but she’s only gone and lost it. I think she’s taken it outside. Tragic!! Nothing else means as much to her..

    Oh, the latest attention seeking thing with Leo is that he’ll stand by your feet and if you don’t stroke him, he falls dramatically to the floor and twists over to expose his tum. He knows I can’t resist giving him a tummy tickle πŸ™‚

  9. I wonder if boys are just tarts. Mackenzie always wraps himself around legs – but I think its cupboard love πŸ˜€

    I hope Lily finds her mouse.

  10. janh1 says:

    Hmm. If she’s taken it outside it’s gone for good. I must have sustained hunt for it around the house in case she’s dropped it down the back of something. πŸ˜‰

  11. You would be surprised – the Kittens have lost a few collars outside and two of them were found when gardening. Sophie used to have a squeaky, furry toy she carried around in her mouth from when she was a kitten. It once disappeared for months until I was looking in a drawer one day – and found Squeaky. She must have jumped in the drawer with it in her mouth and jumped out without it.

  12. janh1 says:

    Well that does give me hope, Sophie! Been mostly cycling so far this morning. Must get a chat with the far-flung sons then settle down to some tedious chores followed by writing!

  13. Pseu says:

    I like the thumbs up cat!

  14. I’ve just seen this advert on TV: is there a trend of cats with thumbs???

Leave a Reply

