Cooking Sunday

I’m serving time in the kitchen today.  Boeuf bourguignon done.  Raspberry pav well on the way.  Chocolate pud still to go.

Much as I’d like to be out freezing my face solid on a swift downhill in a country lane,  some days just call for more homely pursuits, so I’m in the kitchen suffused with cooking fragrance getting on with stuff and listening to classic tunes on the ipod.

This is one.  Played it so many times that miraculously, I still remember the lyrics.

 

 

 

 

 

About janh1

Part-time hedonist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cooking Sunday

  1. valzone says:

    Good morning Jan. As you look up from the cooker, is the snow falling gently, making you think “good decision to stay home and sweat over lunch” ? First of all, the American pie song, brilliant, and for the reasons he wrote it too.
    Lunch in your house today sounds yummy, mine is cooking nicely in the oven, but I just have to get out with the camera, the snow flakes are large and falling heavily, I might get some good shots, you never know. Have a lovely day Jan.

  2. janh1 says:

    Noooo!! No snow here. Might be some mid-week – when I’m working, I expect doh!

    Family coming and lunch all ready but I may flee for a bit of a jog later. Too dark to take pics by then so I’m depending on you to get some good shots, Val. Sounds perfect conditions. Don’t forget the white balance! I did one year and everything came out yellow. (still can’t say I completely understand it) Look forward to your pics! 🙂

  3. valzone says:

    White balance? More like legs balance Jan, we have about 4 inches of the white stuff. Just been for a walkabout, it was difficult keeping the snowflakes off the lens, and my hands were freezing, I’ll see what the results are like shortly 🙂

  4. I have a fond memory of everybody on our table singing along to a lot of the words and to each chorus of American Pie in a hotel when the club singer in the corner of the restaurant started playing on their Bontempi organ. Happy days!

    I have been having a hybrid of your day’s Janh and Val: I admired the snow from the window but then baked the Christmas Cake (better late than never), made brocolli and sweet potato soup and a bit pot of chilli 😀

  5. janh1 says:

    That’s bonding, that is, Sophie! Brilliant. 🙂

    That soup sounds good. Someone told me about a Delia Christmas cake mix that’s sold in Waitrose. Might give that a whirl this year. Just about time to bake it and start feeding it brandy 😉

Leave a Reply

