A few fireworks

Fab fireworks last night. A clear night and utterly still but if I’m being picky, we really needed a gentle zephyr to clear away the smoke between fireworks. The lower level display was masked by thick pall of swirling mist. Turneresque but tended to obliterate the finer points of the display.

Feck-off huge rockets though, this year with a kind of delayed charge going on so that just when you thought it was nearly over, each stream of fiery sparkle split into yet smaller streams.

Snapped off plenty of pics, none of them brilliant but here are a few of Β a mediocre bunch.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About janh1

Part-time hedonist.
This entry was posted in Countryside, Current Affairs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A few fireworks

  1. valzone says:

    These are fantastic Jan, each one is just fantastic, I love them, 10/10.

    I’m pleased it went well for you. I attended one but didn’t take any photos, I was playing the part of helper with food etc. Tomorrow is my turn for shooting, along with the camera club. If the members saw yours, they’d sign you up as a member PDQ.

    • janh1 says:

      Blimey, thanks Val. I cropped a lot of them but the cropping reveals how out of focus some of them are. Never mind, it was an effort and they are a nice memento. Some of the smoke effects were interesting. Good luck with you photoshoot tomorrow! πŸ™‚

  2. IsobelandCat says:

    I like them.
    I’ve never tried photographing fireworks, but as the atmosphere is also the noise, the people etc, it seems quite a hard task to me. I like the ones that look like flowers – couldn’t see a way to identify by name or number – and there is something of the science lab about them too!

    • janh1 says:

      Thanks. There’s always plenty of room to stand and stare if you don’t want to get near the bonfire. I am amazed how many people brought dogs, though. Completely unsuitable!!

  3. One of them looks remarkably like the space shippy type thing that brought Superman to Earth from Krypton!

    • janh1 says:

      πŸ™‚ It’s the unexpected effects that are the bonus when you are snapping away, as Forrest Gump’s mother said, never quite sure what you’re gonna get.

  4. valzone says:

    Jan, we seem to forget how cropping loses valuable pixels, pixels that are needed even more for images like fireworks. The fact is, it hasn’t detracted from the lovely effects with these. We shouldn’t be striving for perfection, just be happy with what we get. A tripod is essential for Fireworks, plus get the camera settings right…….says she, who is likely to make a right cock up tomorrow night πŸ™‚

  5. janh1 says:

    But there were sparkly things going on that I completely failed to get

    Anyway, my photography is almost always “happy accident” so I’m looking forward to yours – and I’m sure you won’t cock up πŸ˜€

  6. Pseu says:

    Jan, what are the ramifications of your new avatar?

  7. janh1 says:

    V droll, Pseu.

    Probably woolly-mindedness. πŸ™‚

  8. Pseu says:

    Very fine horns, if I may say so

  9. Jan says:

    Why thank you! All ovine compliments accepted sheepishly πŸ™‚

  10. Pseu says:

    And he’s certainly not the black sheep of the family.

    • Jan says:

      Strangely enough, I took a pic of a black lamb a couple of years ago and I still see him occasionally – the black sheep of the Forest. His heft must be the Speech House area and he’s easy to spot πŸ™‚

  11. IsobelandCat says:

    I have a couple of pictures of a sheep I photographed in Derbyshire that I shall post for you.
    It seemed to be posing…

  12. janh1 says:

    Morning Isobel. Excellent! I’ll look out for them. Your sheep were obviously hoping for a photoshoot and got one!

    I quite like sheep. The more intelligent of them. Herdwicks are my favourite. They are soft-looking and hardy. The lambs are lovely.

  13. valzone says:

    Hi Jan, I will post my black sheep later for you, pretty little devils.

  14. IsobelandCat says:

    I’m a Wensleydale fan. Love the dreadlocks.
    I grew up on the North Downs, so lots of sheep there. My primary school was next to a sheep farm. We used to watch lambs being born from the playground.
    I went back about fifteen years ago and it had turned into a housing estate.

  15. janh1 says:

    I like those too if they look like what I think they look like. When I was little (under 5) my best friend Paul Smith and I used to try to catch lambs. We just wanted a lamb cuddle – or maybe it was just me. Whatever. Never succeeded! πŸ™‚

  16. IsobelandCat says:

    You might want to check out Adrienne Shaw. She’s a London Potter and she does wonderful sheep, as well as other animals.

Leave a Reply

