Freedom!

The kittens peered cautiously out of the open back door at a garden full of sunshine and shadows and a lawn still chilled and heavy with dew.

 

Then they were off, making their way in different directions, looking at the steps, the walls, creeping around the base of the bins and straight into the shrubs all around the edge.

 

Leo kept emerging as though to get his bearings and I thought he was going straight into the pond but sensibly stretched out a paw to test the water and decided, on reflection, to stay dry.

 

Hilarious to see Lily making her way across the lawn like leaping ballet dancer, attempting to make as little contact with the wet cold grass as possible but once she got used to it, explorations dissolved into a giant game of hide and seek with the kittens streaking from here to there and loving the space and freedom.

 

No worries about them going further today, although I did begin to wonder how I was going to get them in because they were having so much manic fun. Probably a good idea not to let them out before I have to go to work.

 

My dog training proved to be total rubbish. While they might deign to come when they are called while inside the house, as far as they are concerned, I can just sod off while they are in the garden.

 

But Lily was first back in, her underside and legs soaking wet and Leo followed me back in a minute or two later. They nicked two slices of grilled bacon from the worktop shortly afterwards when I was out of the room so I reckon that in future, I’ll be able to tempt them inside again with a little unsmoked back!

 

About janh1

Part-time hedonist.
This entry was posted in Kittens. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Freedom!

  1. IsobelandCat says:

    Who needs television when you have kittens to watch.
    Sounds brilliant. Love the balletic Lily image.
    🙂

  2. janh1 says:

    Hey Isobel, they were sooooo exhausted afterwards. Slept solidly for four hours at least. 😉

  3. IsobelandCat says:

    Ah bless.
    I was trying to do my filing, but Cat pounced on it and the papers are now everywhere.
    We ended up having a half hour game where he was chasing his new toy, catching it and flinging it about all over the landing and stairs. Huge eyes and claws at the ready.
    He’s gone outside now.
    Not bad for sixteen is he.

  4. janh1 says:

    Not bad at all!! Can’t believe he’s that age. Certainly doesn’t look it.

  5. IsobelandCat says:

    *Proud smile*

    Did you see Nom Nom cat? I thought you might like it.
    Need to tackle the filing again now.
    Back later.

    • janh1 says:

      Sorry Isobel, I must have missed it! Can you send me the link again? Thanks 😉

    • janh1 says:

      So even if I get a cat flap, should the conditions not be favourable, they won’t be using it? It’s pouring down here now and they are comfortably curled up on/next to me.

      • IsobelandCat says:

        To be fair, until last year, Cat either crossed his legs or went out regardless of the weather, only using the tray in extremis. I think this is an age driven choice. It’s raining here to, waiting for a lull and then I’ll go out.

  6. Pseu says:

    Sweet images, Jan!

    • janh1 says:

      Ta, Pseu. The terrible two came back into the house of their own accord today after about 20 minutes. I think it had something to do with next door’s springer spaniel barking!

Leave a Reply

