The descent into bucaholism

Just back from the first cycle  ride for a week and find the countryside has descended into rampant bucoholism.

It’s all lush and green and overgrown like mother nature has thought “It’s summer. Quite frankly, I’m just not bothering any more. Time to put the feet up and let everything all blousy and out of control.”

It’s like the whole countryside is going to seed.  A disgrace.

It’s a masochist’s paradise out there.  It’s not just the white van drivers that are out to get me now, it’s nature in general.

I had to be constantly on the look out for briars dangling down threatening to whip me in the face.   Elderflower branches had grown profusely low enough to take my head off or an eye outl and the grasses that don’t whip your legs wetly (ok well I admit there is a perverted pleasure to be had from pedalling through a field of delicate cool  fronds but quite honestly you’re passing through too fast to appreciate it properly. Actually, maybe I should try it a bit slower…) are razor sharp and leave slash marks on your calves.

Then a swan rose out of the undergrowth near the pond and it’s undercarriage missed my head by about six inches.

Apart from that, it was lovely. And I broke my no-hands record.  It now stands at 19 seconds.  Oh yes

About janh1

Part-time hedonist.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The descent into bucaholism

  1. valzone says:

    No hands for 19 seconds? No wonder that swan took flight, he saw you coming 🙂 🙂
    Well done Jan, have a rest now.

  2. IsobelandCat says:

    Just discovered there’s nowhere to log in on your page, so went round the houses and back again.

    I was thinking the same about our garden; one moment it was sweetly floral with the promise of things to come; the next, especially after a few heavy showers and some sun, it’s gone into overdrive and is just yelling abundance at every turn.

    Luvverly!

  3. janh1 says:

    Somewhere to log in would be useful, Isobel. It I knew how to provide one, I would!

  4. IsobelandCat says:

    Maybe it’s something that come with the Theme. I don’t think I selected it as a widget.

  5. janh1 says:

    Found it. Ta Isobel 🙂

Leave a Reply

