Al fresco II

Actually,  it’s amazing how quickly the garden changes at this time of year.

Just looking back at Al Fresco I  posted seven days ago and now the apple blossom pictured there has turned into teeny apples,  the tulips are all but over and the primula has gorn.  But in their place are geraniums, weigela, robinia blossom, columbine and a fragrant yellow plant of the pea family that I can’t remember the name of.

It’s a tender little thing, this pea-related shrub, with pretty leaves.  I got a branch from a a friend and took five cuttings, which survived.  Gave them to friends, kept one.  Mine died over a winter.   A friend’s cutting had grown well – planted straight into the ground – so she gave us all potted-on cuttings.  I had two.  This winter, only one of mine survived – and everyone else’s has died so now I’m hoping my plant will grow well so that I can distribute cuttings once  more.   Just shows it’s pot luck (geddit?).   Hard to know why I go to so much effort with it when I can’t even remember it’s name!

So this morning breakfast looked so good, I took its picture and then trailed around the garden recording the other bits and pieces in flower.

Hah.   This could be called “Light and Shade on Scrambled Egg”

Like a wedding bouquet.

About janh1

Part-time hedonist.
This entry was posted in Just flowers, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Al fresco II

  1. Isobel says:

    Obviously I like the flowers and plants, but I tried photographing some food last year and realised it’s very hard to take a picture where the food still looks appetising! Having the garden in the background and good natural light evidently helps, but these are great. I may have to swap my Sunday breakfast, normally omelette, for scrambled eggs. 🙂

  2. Jan says:

    Son no 2 and I used to swap dinner pics.

    Would be much more tricky to photograph an omelette, Isobel and much trickier to cook, actually!! 🙂

  3. Flavia says:

    Great photos Jan of your yummy looking breakfast and the weather looks amazing.
    We’ve only just got some sunshine here in Rome after a very unseasonal rainy patch for the last three weeks.

  4. janh1 says:

    This is unexpected pleasure, Flavia. Lovely to see you! I can hardly believe the weather here is better than Rome. I was out today on the bike by the canal and the heat and the sudden smell of someone cooking lunch reminded me strongly of being abroad. 🙂

    There are some flash fiction writing things going on at Bearsy’s Cave website. You might be tempted to try? Hope you do.

    http://bearsy.wordpress.com/

  5. IsobelandCat says:

    Stuck with the spring onion and mushroom omelette. But thought of you.

  6. janh1 says:

    That sounds tasty, Isobel. You might have taken a pic…. 🙂 My mushrooms were shining in the sun this morning but I resisted the urge to take more pics. Don’t want to be cast as the nutter with the breakfast album. otoh might be too late!

  7. IsobelandCat says:

    There are worse reputations.
    I make it most Sundays for breakfast, though I can’t remember how it came about. Probably a surfeit of all the ingredients one day.
    I should have tried some food photos this past week. I got loads of tomatoes and my meals have been very colourful.

  8. janh1 says:

    There’s always this coming week. Hey, I invented a pud today. Well, to be fair, it is an adaptation of bread and butter pud. But it works! Warning: contains traces of alcohol. 🙂

Leave a Reply

