Riding through floods

Just found this lurking on my crowded desktop and thought it was worth a post.

Yes I know I’m risking my bottom bracket but, hell, you only live once.

About janh1

Part-time hedonist.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Watery things. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Riding through floods

  1. IsobelandCat says:

    Where was the camera?
    Rain, pedal and speed.

  2. valzone says:

    Oh wow, this is fantastic, I echo Isobel, where was the camera and what speed were you travelling? the spray suggests you were moving fairly swiftly.
    My camera club would love this one Jan.

  3. janh1 says:

    Cycling one-handed, holding camera looking down.

    No idea what speed, going through floods, so flat track. I like the cool colours and the spray.

    Val, you’re welcome to the original image if they are interested. πŸ™‚

  4. valzone says:

    I will copy this image if I may Jan; I wouldn’t without your permission, so thanks.
    It’s a really good shot you took there, you should be very proud. 10/10.

  5. IsobelandCat says:

    A perfect job for the gorillapod!
    Hope you recognised the Turner allusion.

  6. janh1 says:

    You are welcome to the full res thing if you like, Val. I never thought of it as anything special. It just wanted to take something to capture the feeling…something to look at when I can’t actually BE out there on the bike acting like a big kid πŸ™‚

    Isobel, I’m ashamed to admit I missed that and I *love* Turner. Thanks for pointing it out tho.

  7. Pseu says:

    Do you spend hours cleaning the machine after a ride? Just wondering. SOME people do.

  8. janh1 says:

    πŸ™‚ That “SOME” was pointed, Pseu.

    Not always. And I don’t take everything apart like some people do, because I’m nervous that I won’t be able to put it back together.

    But there is nothing quite like a shiny cassette and a jockey wheel you could eat off. Oh and gleaming cranks and a lovely shiny seat tube. I’m shutting up now. Ahem. I am very fond of my bike. It has given very good service.

  9. valzone says:

    I showed the camera club your photograph last night, did you hear the applause? One chap suggested the club try something similar as a club task.
    Now you’ve started something Jan; I can’t even ride a bike :-).

  10. janh1 says:

    Did you really? Woo. Sounds like you’re in for some interesting practical work πŸ™‚

    As Isobel said, a gorrillapod might be the answer.

  11. IsobelandCat says:

    I took a picture of grass as I ran across it. I’ll look it out and post on my page. It made me think of the Blair Witch Project, despite never seeing the film.

  12. janh1 says:

    Ah, I recognise *that* Turner reference πŸ™‚

    The Blair Witch Project was a lamentable anti-climax. See you over there.

Leave a Reply

