Moonlight

Just back from a bit of a jog – only the second this year.  Testing out the dodgy knee which seems fine so far.

Fabulously fine evening with an almost full moon, bright stars in the west and my jogging route a trail of fragrances from sweet-smelling flowering bushes – starting with our Viburnum burkwoodii which is covered in ghostly white globular flower clusters and going on to the scented shrubs and growing in other people’s gardens and the acidic smell of conifers.

Five rabbits were nibbling the short grass under the street lights. Three fled into the shadows but two remained, sitting unconcerned as I passed on the other side of the road.

A shadow moved by the wall to my left and it was a hedgehog.  It stopped dead but didn’t curl up.   Just waited for me to go. But I didnt.  I stayed.  It was me or the hedgehog.  Finally the hedgehog got bored, raised itself on it’s thin short legs and ran – and I mean ran! – along the wall and vanished under a hedge.

The hedgehog gave me a bit of a breather. When I got home, I felt I could have probably done a bit more but no need to push things too far.

So nice being out, though. No traffic.  No people.  Just me, the moonlight and the creatures of the night, disappearing into the pools of shadow.

About janh1

Part-time hedonist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Moonlight

  1. Isobel says:

    Hi Jan
    Sounds pretty idyllic.
    You certainly are the sporty one here, aren’t you.
    Well done with the knee.
    Maybe you and the hedgehog could do a spot of companionable running?

  2. janh1 says:

    Greetings Isobel. I think the hedgehog would be marginally faster. 😀

    I enjoyed it. I used to take doggo out for a last trot at 10.30-11.00pm sometimes – and we did regular early mornings with mists in the fields and dew-dropped webs all over the hedges. No call to do that these days.

  3. Sabina says:

    Very enjoyable Jan, felt like I was there with you, experiencing the wildlife and the smells.
    It is lovely when you get a warmish evening these days, your nose picks up scents from far and near,may be the sense of smell is just glad to be let out and free,after the hibernation!
    I have Lemon tree flowering in my conservatory,and it has an amazing scent. And outside the front door is my Daphne in a pot. The garden is alive with birds (their appetite has trebled), and the rest of the garden has just got that newly acquired smell which comes with the new foliage.
    Enjoy your outings,but as you say go easy.

  4. janh1 says:

    Hi Sabina. You’ve reminded me about the heady scent of Daphne. Prince Charles had it in the corners of his walled kitchen garden. Such a good idea to put such a luxurious scented plant near the boring veggies. He had lots of good things going on at Highgrove. If you ever get the chance, you should go – you’d get so much out of it! 🙂

  5. Sabina says:

    Jan,
    for a minute I thought that Prince Charles was your neighbour or somefing!
    I didnt know the Highgrove gardens were open to the public,I shall make an attempt.
    Today is a typical bank holiday weekend, damp,dark and drizzly! But am still happy because it the first of May,the month my son and his family return to the UK.
    As you well know,what is it with mothers and theior children?
    Have a good weekend.

  6. janh1 says:

    Sorry to be late replying, Sabina – loads on this weekend with Jazz festival and family stuff.

    I know the feeling precisely!! Your son’s back in May – one of mine is visiting for three days in July – volcanoes permitting 🙂

    It’s very dark, windy and cold here today. Just considering whether to go ride or run. Neither really appeals much.

    Re Highgrove, well he lives in Gloucestershire – that’s as neighbourly as it gets 🙂 Seriously tho, the Highgrove Garden is only open to the public by special appointment ie parties are taken around after security vetting. If you’d like to go, you need to write to his secretary at Highgrove and chances are, you and your husband will be included on a tour. Go for it! You’d love it. xx

  7. Sabina says:

    Hi Jan
    Am begining to enjoy dropping in here to say hello to you!
    Yes I will make an effort. Before that I want to make another visit to the Kew,and the Eden project.
    The British Museum are having a display of plants from South Africa,and am hoping it will continue until next week whem am in the city.
    Last yer the BM had an “Indian ” exhibition. Apart from the painings and the costumes,outside they had all the plants.Including Mango and Tamrind trees,and all the native flowers.If I catch the South Afican one next week then I will bring some photos back.
    Bye for now,

    • janh1 says:

      You’re welcome any time, Sabina 🙂 Yes do get some pics of the S African flora – proteas are stunning. They had mango trees and tamarinds at the Eden project along with vast range of exotic species.

  8. jaimeatdnmyt says:

    Sounds very pastoral. I think it was on Facebook that I was given the Patronus of a hedgehog. I was not flattered, but even so I like the critters and now and again have thought about getting one for my yard. Would be so much better than the gopher that destroyed my roses last year.

    • janh1 says:

      Greetings Jaime! 🙂 Yes I like hedgehogs too. I always imagined they would be slow, but they trot very briskly and purposefully. Mating must be tricky though – the agony and the ecstasy!

  9. Brendano says:

    Hello janh1. Just to let you know that I have set up a blog at

    http://brendano7.wordpress.com/

    and you’d be very welcome to drop in if you wish.

  10. Sabina says:

    Hi Jan
    oh my what a fiasco,or is it? All I know is that I do not want another election soon. Hopefully things will improve ,let us hope so.

  11. Jan says:

    Hi Sabina – weird situation huh? Can’t see the country falling apart yet. Maybe the anarchists are right – we don’t actually need a Government 😉

    Seriously, though. Another election in October, methinks. You ok? Vile weather here but have been out weeding and now heading down to the Forest with bike to get filthy.

  12. Sabina says:

    Hi Jan,
    foul weather here,rain and cold wind but the flowers are un dettered1
    Yes I agree,probably anothe relection is in offing. October sounds too close we should have some breathing space.
    Hoping to travel to Italy in October. Staying at Napples and visiting Pompi and Sorrento and the coast of Malafi. So hope they will have the election while am away!
    Did “telling” on election day. Taking numbers of the voting cards. A miserable job! We were not allowed to be inside the voting hall,and sat outside under a tree! It was a damp and cold evening and those were the longest three hours of my life!
    And then this result,am doubly disappointed.
    Have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

