Spring flowers

.

.

.

.

.

.

The most beautiful flowers tend not to last long.

Still worth it though.

The old-blood red shoots of the paeonies are thrusting upwards in the border.

I always look forward to their flowering.

After the paeony bowls of butter-gold stamens there are the roses.

My favourite is the climbing rose Zephirine Drouhin – a fragrant,

gorgeous free-flowering bourbon rose.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Magnolia

More Magnolias

Camellia

About janh1

Part-time hedonist.
This entry was posted in Just flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Spring flowers

  1. valzone says:

    Oh wow Jan, these are sensational, expertly shot.
    Val

  2. valzone says:

    Yes I do Jan, I also have a macro lens as an extra, very useful for shots like yours.
    I’m trying to use WordPress as a sort of own website; I am going to have a go at doing a gallery here, I shall have to study form and read the directions or should I say, instructions.
    I want to able to say to someone, “look here for some of my photos” I suppose that can be done can it?

    • janh1 says:

      I used the 28-135mm zoom. It’s got a macro setting but I didn’t use the macro on this occasion. Yes do give me a link to your pics when you’ve got them organised!

  3. Pseu says:

    You’re magnolia is out earlier than mine! Lovely pics

  4. Pseu says:

    or even your magnolia.

  5. isobelandcat says:

    Gorgeous. Love the camellia.

    • janh1 says:

      Hi Isobel. It’s a variety called China Clay, from Cornwall. The cold mornings have turned some of the petals brown around the edges since this was taken.

  6. isobelandcat says:

    You might find that difficult to grow on a river.
    I would like to visit Derek Jarman’s garden one day.
    Have you ever been there?

  7. isobelandcat says:

    Dungeness.

    for a pic.

    • janh1 says:

      Oooh. Quite wild and pebbly! Looks like he was a beachcomber too.

      • isobelandcat says:

        Yes, if you look online there are loads of pix. I must find out about visiting. I love that bleak coastline you get in essex and North Kent.
        BTW, feel free to pop a note on my blog when you put up something new. I am struggling to understand the problem with such ‘flyers’ but it feels too late (in the evening) to get into the discussion, especially as the decision has apparently been made.

      • janh1 says:

        Yes I will. And vice versa, Isobel. I dunno about bleak and pebbly. I prefer craggy, cliffs, fossils, interesting rocks – sea caves!! πŸ˜€

      • isobelandcat says:

        Just posted. You’ll see I’ve been playing macros again!

  8. Beautiful magnolia Jan,
    love the colour.

    • janh1 says:

      Woo, Sabina! Thanks for calling in πŸ˜€
      It’s doing much better out of the pot.

      I haven’t got anything to match your floral displays but there might be a few azalea pics too. The yellow scented one by the back door has buds that seem to be developing by the hour!

Leave a Reply

