Hello world!

Goodness, where are  my manners?   I should first say ‘welcome.’

This may turn into a collection of properly-constructed blogs,  half-arsed blogs, throw-away comments, a spill-guts diary, some nice piccies, jokes and quotes and whatever else springs to mind.

What it won’t be is very sensible.  So if you’re looking for sensible, authoritative, instructional, mind-expanding stuff, you might as well get your coat.

These are the scribblings of a part-time hedonist – the kind of person who could quiet easily devote their entire life to pointless enjoyment but is forced  by circumstance into making some kind of living by working.  Also there is the conscience element;  that even if it were possible to devote oneself wholly and entirely to the pursuit of excitement and pleasure, it would be shallow and selfish – and quite tiring.

There will be stuff about cycling – mountainbiking, road riding and commuting – about the countryside and the coast, about music, about getting reacquainted with the piano after a long absence, about books, films, TV, about nice dinners and good wine and things that make me laugh.

Actually, I lied about there being no sensible stuff.  There will be that too.  Sciency/biological stuff and the latest studies into how to have crashingly superb orgasms.  That was a joke.  But obviously if I do come across such information I will, of course, keep you posted.  What a brilliant research subject.  Someone must be working on it apart from in Thai massage parlours.

I am a noted bogus doctor.  My patients report much success getting rid of warts by rubbing them with a bit of bacon and then burying the bacon in the garden.  When the bacon decomposes so the warts vanish.  That’s a technique handed down by my mother and I won’t have a word said against it.

I have to go now to lube my bike, paint a couple of doors with brilliant white eggshell, which to be frank is a bit drippy (or perhaps it’s me) and practice “Going Home” the Local Hero theme on my lovely new secondhand  piano before doing some roast lamb + mint sauce.  The fragrance of it is filling the house.

Actually, it’s pretty damn fab having a proper piano for the first time since I was ten or eleven years old.  I’ve got a Yamaha organ and keyboards but they’re not the same.  Just looking at this piano sitting there makes me smile with pleasure – and playing it is even better.

Oh and here’s a pic of my late doggo Roly.   Handsome boy.  🙂

About janh1

Part-time hedonist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Hello world!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. pseu1 says:

    hello, hello, hello

  3. isobelandcat says:

    Or tulips maybe. i got some lovely ones yesterday. Though with Easter on the horizon you could have something on an egg theme. An omelette perhaps? May be one made by Stacey’s mum.

  4. Pseu says:

    Looking forward to the development of this site.
    It’ll be lovely when its finished.

  5. isobelandcat says:

    Fab! I shall be back. The only thing I didn’t like was the roast lamb. Me being a lentil eating tofu lover. Do you remember the little white cottage at the end of Local Hero? It belonged to a friend of mine. she whitewashed it but had no idea it was in the film until she went to the cinema.
    I like the stuff in the sidebar too. I am going to stay and have wee look around your page. Hope you don’t mind, but the door was open.

    • janh1 says:

      Of course I don’t mind. 🙂 Welcome Isobel. Yes I do remember that cottage. It’s one of my favourite films. She lives in Pennan? Very fortunate!

  6. isobelandcat says:

    No she’s on Skye now. That was a long time and several addresses ago.

  7. isobelandcat says:

    PS Love Roly. V handsome boy. I expect you miss him.

  8. theroyalist says:

    Good evening Jan,

    I look forward to reading your adventures; always great stuff in my book. Don’t ask about the name change, long, boring story.
    Please make sure to use plenty of vowels. Thanks.
    🙂

  9. Pseu says:

    This is disconcerting Janh1. Most recent comments at top of page and a comment I posted when there was nothing here, still evident…

    Nice to see you filling in the ‘Hello World’ blog though.

    • janh1 says:

      🙂 I thought it would make a change, having most recent comments at the top.

      This thing is a giant step forward for me though only an animalcule’s sneeze for mankind.

Leave a Reply

